Cambodia’s Landmine Problem in Numbers
Every figure comes with a target year and a source. Because numbers can differ depending on the organization and method of counting, when a year has more than one figure we show both and explain the difference in the table notes.
Cumulative totals (all years combined)
- Cumulative casualties (1979-2025): 65,125 people (Cumulative landmine/ERW casualties recorded by CMVIS from January 1979 to December 2025. Breakdown: 51,225 by landmines (79%) and 13,900 by ERW (21%); 19,845 killed (30%), 36,179 injured (56%), and 9,101 amputations (14%).) [Ref 0019]
- Cumulative deaths (1979-2025): 19,845 people (Cumulative number of people killed by landmines/ERW recorded by CMVIS from January 1979 to December 2025.) [Ref 0019]
- Cumulative casualties (1979-2024): 65,086 people (Cumulative total for 1979-2024 published by the Landmine Monitor (based on CMAA's response). Breakdown: 19,834 killed, 36,156 injured, and 9,096 amputations. Matches the cumulative total of 65,086 in the CMVIS monthly report for December 2024.) [Ref 0017]
- Land made safe: 1,616,000,000 m² (Cumulative area of mine/ERW-affected land released by CMAC alone from June 1992 to June 2023 (the original text says almost 1,616 km2). Note that this is the record of CMAC as a single organization, not the national total for all operators.) [Ref 0026]
- Landmines cleared: 596,168 items (Cumulative number of mines found and destroyed by CMAC alone (breakdown: 582,417 anti-personnel mines, 11,374 anti-tank mines, and 2,377 improvised mines). The page does not state the period covered, but it is the cumulative total since CMAC's founding (1992). The target year is set to 2024 because the contamination estimate on the page is as of January 2024 (retrieved 2026-07-11).) [Ref 0026]
- UXO items disposed of: 2,537,335 items (Cumulative number of ERW (explosive remnants of war) disposed of by CMAC alone (breakdown: 2,931 aerial bombs, 437,060 cluster submunitions, 1,965,449 UXO, and 131,895 unidentified munitions). The period covered is not stated, but it is the cumulative total since CMAC's founding. The target year is set to 2024, as with stat-0048.) [Ref 0026]
Annual casualties from landmines and unexploded ordnance (total)
The same data as the chart, in a table
| Year | Value(people) | Sources & references |
|---|---|---|
| 2016 | 83 (Compiled by CMVIS (Cambodia Mine/ERW Victim Information System). Includes both landmines and ERW (explosive remnants of war such as unexploded ordnance). Total of people killed, injured, and amputees. From the year-by-year table in the CMVIS monthly report for December 2019.) | Ref 0025 |
| 2017 | 58 (Compiled by CMVIS. Total of people killed, injured, and amputees, including both landmines and ERW. From the year-by-year table in the CMVIS monthly report for December 2020.) | Ref 0024 |
| 2018 | 58 (Compiled by CMVIS. Total of people killed, injured, and amputees, including both landmines and ERW. From the CMVIS monthly report for December 2019.) | Ref 0025 |
| 2019 | 77 (Compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 23 by landmines and 54 by ERW; 12 killed, 49 injured, and 16 amputations.) | Ref 0025 |
| 2020 | 65 (Compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 28 by landmines and 37 by ERW; 17 killed, 36 injured, and 12 amputations.) | Ref 0024 |
| 2021 | 44 (Compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 22 by landmines and 22 by ERW; 11 killed, 24 injured, and 9 amputations.) | Ref 0023 |
| 2022 | 41 (Compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 19 by landmines and 22 by ERW; 10 killed, 24 injured, and 7 amputations.) | Ref 0022 |
| 2023 | 32 (Compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 17 by landmines and 15 by ERW; 4 killed, 18 injured, and 10 amputations.) | Ref 0021 |
| 2024 | 49 (Compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 22 by landmines and 27 by ERW; 12 killed, 29 injured, and 8 amputations.) | Ref 0020 |
| 2025 | 39 (Compiled by CMVIS (provisional figures). Breakdown: 19 by landmines and 20 by ERW; 11 killed, 23 injured, and 5 amputations.) | Ref 0019 |
Mine/UXO incidents
The same data as the chart, in a table
| Year | Value(incidents) | Sources & references |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 39 (Number of landmine/ERW incidents compiled by CMVIS (number of incidents, not number of people). From the year-on-year comparison in the CMVIS monthly report for December 2019.) | Ref 0025 |
| 2019 | 55 (Number of landmine/ERW incidents compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 26 landmine and 29 ERW incidents.) | Ref 0025 |
| 2020 | 47 (Number of landmine/ERW incidents compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 26 landmine and 21 ERW incidents.) | Ref 0024 |
| 2021 | 34 (Number of landmine/ERW incidents compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 19 landmine and 15 ERW incidents.) | Ref 0023 |
| 2022 | 29 (Number of landmine/ERW incidents compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 17 landmine and 12 ERW incidents.) | Ref 0022 |
| 2023 | 29 (Number of landmine/ERW incidents compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 17 landmine and 12 ERW incidents.) | Ref 0021 |
| 2024 | 30 (Number of landmine/ERW incidents compiled by CMVIS. Breakdown: 19 landmine and 11 ERW incidents.) | Ref 0020 |
| 2025 | 29 (Number of landmine/ERW incidents compiled by CMVIS (provisional figures). The report text lists 17 landmine and 12 ERW incidents (the text inconsistently gives 29, 30, and 28 incidents; the year-by-year comparison states 29).) | Ref 0019 |
People killed
The same data as the chart, in a table
| Year | Value(people) | Sources & references |
|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 12 (Compiled by CMVIS. Annual number of people killed in landmine/ERW incidents.) | Ref 0025 |
| 2020 | 17 (Compiled by CMVIS. Annual number of people killed in landmine/ERW incidents.) | Ref 0024 |
| 2021 | 11 (Compiled by CMVIS. Annual number of people killed in landmine/ERW incidents.) | Ref 0023 |
| 2022 | 10 (Compiled by CMVIS. Annual number of people killed in landmine/ERW incidents.) | Ref 0022 |
| 2023 | 4 (Compiled by CMVIS. Annual number of people killed in landmine/ERW incidents.) | Ref 0021 |
| 2024 | 12 (Compiled by CMVIS. Annual number of people killed in landmine/ERW incidents. The Monitor (based on CMAA's response) also reports the same 12 killed.) | Ref 0020 |
| 2025 | 11 (Compiled by CMVIS (provisional figures). Annual number of people killed in landmine/ERW incidents.) | Ref 0019 |
People injured
The same data as the chart, in a table
| Year | Value(people) | Sources & references |
|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 49 (Annual number of people injured, compiled by CMVIS. CMVIS lists injured and amputated separately, so this figure does not include the 16 amputations.) | Ref 0025 |
| 2020 | 36 (Annual number of people injured, compiled by CMVIS (does not include the 12 amputations).) | Ref 0024 |
| 2021 | 24 (Annual number of people injured, compiled by CMVIS (does not include the 9 amputations).) | Ref 0023 |
| 2022 | 24 (Annual number of people injured, compiled by CMVIS (does not include the 7 amputations).) | Ref 0022 |
| 2023 | 18 (Annual number of people injured, compiled by CMVIS (does not include the 10 amputations).) | Ref 0021 |
| 2024 | 29 (Annual number of people injured, compiled by CMVIS (does not include the 8 amputations). The Monitor counts 37 injured including amputations, so the figures differ (see stat-0033).) | Ref 0020 |
| 2024 | 37 (Compiled by the Landmine Monitor (based on CMAA's response to the Monitor questionnaire). This is the injured figure from "49 casualties, 12 killed and 37 injured," a value that includes amputations, corresponding to the 29 injured plus 8 amputations in the CMVIS monthly report. Because the compiling bodies use different definitions, it differs from the CMVIS monthly report figure (stat-0031).) | Ref 0017 |
| 2025 | 23 (Annual number of people injured, compiled by CMVIS (provisional figures; does not include the 5 amputations).) | Ref 0019 |
Landmines cleared
The same data as the chart, in a table
| Year | Value(items) | Sources & references |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 19,229 (Number of anti-personnel (AP) mines destroyed in 2023. Figure published by Mine Action Review based on CMAA data: the sum of 17,173 destroyed in clearance operations and 2,056 in EOD spot tasks. Does not include anti-tank mines or UXO.) | Ref 0016 |
Land made safe
The same data as the chart, in a table
| Year | Value(km²) | Sources & references |
|---|---|---|
| 2019 | 45.62 (45,620,000 m²) (Anti-personnel mine clearance in 2019: 45.62 km2 (Mine Action Review five-year trend table, which notes it may include a substantial amount of anti-tank mine clearance). CMAA also presented a different figure of 35.44 km2 in September 2024.) | Ref 0016 |
| 2020 | 49.99 (49,990,000 m²) (Anti-personnel mine clearance in 2020: 49.99 km2 (Mine Action Review five-year trend table). CMAA also presented a different figure of 60.13 km2 in September 2024.) | Ref 0016 |
| 2021 | 43.73 (43,730,000 m²) (Anti-personnel mine clearance in 2021: 43.73 km2 (Mine Action Review five-year trend table). Note that in September 2024 CMAA also presented a different figure of 74.90 km2, as noted in the source.) | Ref 0016 |
| 2022 | 191.54 (191,541,632 m²) (Total mined area released (land release) in 2022 (CMAA Article 7 report). Breakdown: 32,276,782 m2 cancelled, 70,789,659 m2 reduced, and 88,475,191 m2 cleared.) | Ref 0016 |
| 2022 | 88.48 (88,475,191 m²) (Area of clearance (actual clearance) only in 2022 (CMAA Article 7 report, 88.48 km2). Also matches Mine Action Review's five-year trend table.) | Ref 0016 |
| 2023 | 361.94 (361,935,450 m²) (Total mined area released (land release) through survey and clearance activities in 2023 (CMAA data). Breakdown: 33,178,237 m2 cancelled by non-technical survey, 135,392,938 m2 reduced by technical survey, and 193,364,275 m2 cleared.) | Ref 0016 |
| 2023 | 193.36 (193,364,275 m²) (Area of clearance (actual clearance) only in 2023 (CMAA data). Does not include cancellation or reduction by survey. Because it includes figures reported by the military (RCA and NPMEC), Mine Action Review estimates the actual cleared area lower, at 129.7 km2 (see stat-0041).) | Ref 0016 |
| 2023 | 129.7 (129,700,000 m²) (Mine Action Review's own estimate of anti-personnel mine clearance in 2023 (129.70 km2). The 76.66 km2 reported by the military (RCA and NPMEC) was judged unachievable by manual clearance and revised down to 13 km2. Because it differs from the figure published by CMAA (193.36 km2, stat-0040), both are presented.) | Ref 0016 |
| 2024 | 403.1 (403,100,000 m²) (Area released (land release) in 2024: 403.1 km2 (Landmine Monitor country profile overview). Covers all explosive remnants of war including landmines and cluster munitions, and appears to include cancellation and reduction by survey.) | Ref 0018 |
Remaining contaminated area
The same data as the chart, in a table
| Year | Value(km²) | Sources & references |
|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 716 (716,000,000 m²) (Anti-personnel mine contaminated area as of the end of 2021 (22 provinces, 716 km2). Figure published by Mine Action Review based on CMAA data. Does not include ERW or cluster munition contamination.) | Ref 0016 |
| 2022 | 681 (681,000,000 m²) (Anti-personnel mine contaminated area as of the end of 2022 (681 km2). Figure published by Mine Action Review based on CMAA data.) | Ref 0016 |
| 2023 | 435.06 (435,064,085 m²) (Anti-personnel mine contaminated area as of the end of 2023 (10 provinces; 4,330 suspected hazardous areas totaling 435,064,085 m2). Figure published by Mine Action Review based on Cambodia's Article 7 report (data updated March 29, 2024).) | Ref 0016 |
| 2024 | 515 (515,000,000 m²) (National estimate of 515 km2 of anti-personnel mine contamination still requiring release, stated by the Cambodian government (CMAA) at the treaty's 2024 intersessional meetings. A projected figure that adds the area expected to be added by border-area surveys planned for 2024 to the 435 km2 of known contamination at the end of 2023. The government stated that 132 million US dollars would be needed to complete the work.) | Ref 0016 |
| 2024 | 435.06 (435,060,000 m²) (Mine contaminated area of 435.06 km2 from the Landmine Monitor country profile overview (shown in the profile as contamination "as of the end of 2024"). It is the same value as the end-of-2023 figure in the Article 7 report (stat-0052), so note the Monitor's reference-date labeling.) | Ref 0018 |
| 2024 | 731.4 (731,400,000 m²) (Cluster munition (submunition) contaminated area of 731.4 km2 (Landmine Monitor country profile, as of the end of 2024). Counted separately from mine contamination (stat-0054).) | Ref 0018 |
| 2024 | 1,856 (1,856,000,000 m²) (CMAC's estimate of remaining contamination as of January 2024, "about 1,856 km2" (breakdown: 652 km2 of minefields and 1,204 km2 of UXO and cluster submunition contamination). The figure is larger because it uses a broader definition (including UXO and cluster submunitions) than the mines-only CMAA estimates (stat-0052 to stat-0054). Both are presented.) | Ref 0026 |